Legislative Awards

The AR Threat

Support SAOVA

The Animal Rightist PACs

Get Email Alerts

HSUS, Animal Law

Research Tools

Lobbying, Brochures

Volunteers, Contact

2004 Endorsements

2006 Endorsements

2008 Endorsements

2010 Endorsements

2012 Endorsements

2014 Endorsements

SAOVA Archives 


Legislative Awards 2009

SAOVA is proud to announce our Annual Legislative Award program and honor the state legislators who were our first recipients.

During legislative sessions burdened with emotion, these legislators clearly demonstrated their commitment to continue working with animal owners and sportsmen to preserve property rights and assure protection of our sporting heritage.

Each legislator understands firsthand the many challenges facing citizens involved in all facets of the animal industry and realizes that overzealous animal protection legislation can negatively impact responsible animal owners and sportsmen.

Collectively these legislators displayed outstanding leadership by assisting their colleagues in making informed decisions about animal issues using factual, scientific data from experts in veterinary science and animal husbandry.

Each legislator on our 2009 Award list is a champion for animal owners in their own right. SAOVA along with our state volunteers appreciate the support they have shown us.

Representative Ed Butcher (MT) Legislator of the Year 2009

Senator Stan Gerzofsky (ME) Legislator of the Year 2009

Representative David Reis (IL) Legislator of the Year 2009

Delegate Ed Scott (VA) Legislator of the Year 2009

Senator Mimi Walters (CA) Legislator of the Year 2009

Senator J. P. Wilemon, Jr. (MS) Legislator of the Year 2009

Representative Charles Anderson (TX) Legislative Leader 2009

Senator Mae Beavers (TN) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Steve Drazkowski (MN) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Dan Flynn (TX) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Rod Hamilton (MN) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Dewey L. Hill (NC) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Mark Homer (TX) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Edmund Kuempel (TX) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Frank Niceley (TN) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Jason Smith (MO) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Fred Steen (NC) Legislative Leader 2009

Senator Jerry Tillman (NC) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Jim Viebrock (MO) Legislative Leader 2009

Representative Arthur Williams (NC) Legislative Leader 2009

Belinda Houston presenting award
to Sen. Wilemon

Mary Jo Trimble presenting award to
Rep. David Reis


"We need to remember that laws often have unintended consequences, and the laws that sound the best in the beginning, can do the most damage to our animals, both domestic and wild, in the end." Representative Frank Niceley (TN)

"SAOVA provides many facts to elected leaders in order to make good decisions for animals and animal owners here in North Carolina. I am glad to have a working relationship with this organization." Representative Fred Steen (NC)

"It is an honor to be recognized by SAOVA and their members as a legislator who listens to their concerns and fights on their behalf." Representative David Reis (IL)

"I'm pleased to receive this award, as I've always believed in standing up for the rights of those who love to hunt, fish, and own animals." Representative Rod Hamilton (MN)

"I am honored to receive the Legislator of the Year Award from the Sportsmen's & Animal Owners' Voting Alliance. The work that SAOVA does advocating on behalf of their members has benefited California, as well as the nation. I will continue to fight to protect the rights of sportsmen and animal owners in California as well as the rest of the nation." Senator Mimi Walters (CA)

"Representing the 30th District with its abundant natural resources and numerous outdoor sporting traditions, it is only natural that my work as Delegate includes being an advocate for sportsmen and women here at home and across the Commonwealth. I appreciate the opportunity to work with a number of like-minded legislators and organizations that care about animals and our sporting heritage." Delegate Ed Scott (VA)

"This award was unexpected and I am greatly honored by it. My work on the animal fighting paraphernalia bill came about because of the overwhelming email and phone response I received from dog breeders, trainers and groomers last year. Having been a dog trainer, I understood their concern. I knew that gaining support from my fellow legislators to defeat LD 186 was the only way to protect these owners, breeders and trainers from being lumped in with those individuals involved in illegal animal fighting." Senator Stan Gerzofsky (ME)

"I am honored to receive this award and am so grateful for the efforts of SAOVA and its members. Through continued vigilance in the legislative process and by educating people about the true agenda of the animal rights movement, we can ensure that our God-given rights to own, show, hunt, raise and sell animals, will be preserved." Representative Steve Drazkowski (MN)

Tom Lundberg (right) presents award to
Rep. Dan Flynn

John and Ann Short present award to
Senator Gerzofsky

Help financially support SAOVA's successful pro-active advocacy! See Support SAOVA for options

Copyright (c) SAOVA